| 01904 806444
Lakeside Primary Academy logo
Ebor Academy Trust Logo

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

The National Curriculum sets out the minimum content for our curriculum. Please use the links below to find out what our children will be taught.

Follow this link to the Department of Education website.

Click here for the Primary National Curriculum Parents Complete Guide

Click here for Year Group Expectations

Curriculum Aims

The aims and principles of this school are to promote the moral, cultural, mental, spiritual and physical development of pupils at the school and to prepare the pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life.

Lakeside’s curriculum aims to be both, stimulating and challenging, providing each child with the skills, knowledge and understanding which will be of value to them long after they have left Lakeside Primary Academy. Each child will have a broad and balanced curriculum that is relevant to his or her needs. We believe that all children are entitled to this, irrespective of class, creed or colour.

Lakeside Primary Academy is a primary school and its learning is divided into three stages:

  • Foundation Stage      4 – 5 years of age
  • Key Stage 1                5 – 7 years of age
  • Key Stage 2                7 – 11 years of age

Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage covers your child’s first year in school and often this group is described as ‘Reception’ or ‘Early Years’. Learning at this stage builds on what children already know when they come to school. Therefore skills such as listening, speaking, concentration, persistence, learning to work together and cooperating with other children are covered. The Foundation curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The Foundation Stage prepares children for learning in Key Stage 1 and any learning is consistent with the National Curriculum so that early communication, literacy and numeracy skills are also introduced.

Key Stages 1 and 2

In Key Stages 1 and 2 all classes operate the National Curriculum. The subjects taught are:

  • English (Literacy)
  • Mathematics (Numeracy)
  • Science
  • Design & Technology (D&T)
  • Information Communication Technology (ICT)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Music
  • Religious Education (RE)
  • Personal Social and Health Education (PSHE)
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Modern Foreign Languages

Each term we use a theme to link together relevant areas of study. Throughout the school children are taught according to the National Curriculum at a level that suits their age and abilities and they may work as part of a whole class, within a group or as an individual in independent work.

For information on Mixed Aged Classes click here